African Poets, the Brunel University Prize and the Sillerman Prize are open for submissions.

The Brunel University African Poetry Prize

The 2016 edition Brunel University African Poetry Prize is open for entries from October 1, 2015 to November 30, 2015. The Prize was founded by Bernardine Evaristo.  Previous winners include Warsan Shire, Liyou Libsekal, Safia Elhillo and Nick Makoha

The judges for the 2016 Prize are: Bernadine Evaristo, Tsitsi Jaji, Kwame Dawes, Helen Yitah and John Keene. The “prize is open to African poets, defined as those who were born in Africa, or who are nationals of an African country, or whose parents are African. The Prize is also open to “African poets who have not yet had a full-length poetry book published.”

Please read the complete rules here.

The Sillerman First Book Prize for African Poetry

The Sillerman is  “awarded annually to an African poet who has not yet published a collection of poetry. The winner receives USD $1000 and book publication through the University of Nebraska Press and Amalion Press in Senegal”  The African Poetry Book Fund Editorial Board, including Kwame Dawes, Chris Abani, Matthew Shenoda, John Keene, Gabeba Baderoon, and Bernardine Evaristo, will judge. (APBF)

(I’d like to know know more about the relationship between the Brunel and the Sillerman. Both prizes have Dawes, Evaristo and Keene in common. One day…)

The deadline for submission is December 1st. Please read eligibility rules and submission guidelines here.



  1. A million thanks for the info.
    However, I have a question:
    What should be the title of the Word document sent in for the African Brunel University prize.
    Should it be named ‘attachment’ or something else?


Comments are closed.